告别人工翻译

Case study featured image Huawei | Phrase

华为因其智能手机而为全球消费者所熟知,但读者可能会惊讶地发现,华为早在 1987 年就已成立。如今,华为的产品包括智能手机、平板电脑和无线路由器等设备,以及企业级网络硬件和服务。华为移动服务由华为全资子公司 Aspiegel SE 提供。

数据与实例

华为欧洲的数据

80%
翻译记忆使用
80%
缩短周转时间
20+
语言

挑战

更新过时的工作流程

Aspiegel SE 和华为欧洲最初采取的本地化方法与许多其他公司的初始战略相似:所有内容都是通过 Word 文档和 Excel 电子表格手工翻译的。不出所料,该公司很快意识到,随着不断向新市场扩张,这种耗时的流程无法很好地扩展。为了解决这个问题,负责管理华为都柏林多语言中心的 Sergio Llorens González 和他在华沙的同事 Lena Hasiuk 开始寻找能够满足公司需求的翻译管理系统 (TMS)。

除了不再需要在 Word 和 Excel 中手动翻译文件外,Aspiegel 和华为欧洲还希望有一个灵活的 TMS 系统,能够适应各种工作流程。例如,由几名译员和审校组成的团队负责大量语种的翻译,而其他一些语种则完全由一名译员负责。需要翻译的内容包括法律文本和营销文本,不同项目对输出文件结构的要求也不尽相同。

与许多科技公司不同,Aspiegel 和华为欧洲还在内部处理所有本地化工作,而不是外包给供应商。因此,Sergio 和 Lena 开始寻找一种 TMS,使现有的本地化员工能够快速、轻松地过渡到该系统,并具备适合内部使用的功能。

解决方案

Phrase TMS 功能丰富,简单易学

在比较并参加了其他 TMS 解决方案的现场演示会后,他们最终选择了Phrase TMS。他们发现 Phrase TMS 具备他们所寻找的所有功能,而且还有一些功能;例如,虽然他们以前的本地化方法不涉及机器翻译 (MT),但自从改用 Phrase TMS 后,他们已经开始使用MT了。

值得注意的是,尽管面临正在进行的项目的压力,Aspiegel 和华为欧洲仍能在不到一个月的时间内从手动本地化流程过渡到 Phrase TMS。他们没有选择培训本地化员工如何使用 Phrase TMS,但这并不影响 — 因为每个人都能在工作中学习该软件,包括从未使用过 CAT 工具的人。

开始使用 Phrase TMS 之后,我们的翻译流程就像搭上了火箭,
速度比之前加快了 80%。

Sergio Llorens González

本地化经理

收益

利用机器翻译加快周转时间

自从放弃人工翻译,转而使用 Phrase TMS 后,Aspiegel 和华为欧洲大大提高了本地化流程的效率。该公司注意到的最惊人的改进是合同条款和条件的翻译:如今,他们的本地化员工能够利用翻译记忆库匹配这些文件中约 80% 的文本,周转时间也相应缩短了 80%。

从本质上讲,营销文案不像法律文案那样可以循环使用,因此公司开始使用机器翻译来提高这方面的效率。该公司的译员和审稿人认为,有机器翻译的文本作为参考很有帮助,使用 MT 后,其营销翻译工作流程的效率提高了约 30%为了尽量减少译员必须放弃的无用机器翻译的数量,Aspiegel 和华为欧洲还提高了 Phrase TMS 的 MT 质量阈值。

随着 Aspiegel 和华为欧洲的不断扩大,其本地化团队也在不断壮大,从最初的 20 名翻译增加到 50 名。Lena Hasiuk 和 Sergio Llorens González 最初从其他 TMS 中选择了 Phrase TMS,后来业务运营专员 Anna Gawrońska 也加入了他们的行列,现在她负责领导公司的本地化工作。Phrase TMS 的支持团队给 Gawrońska 留下了特别深刻的印象,她认为这是与 Phrase TMS 合作的 “一大亮点”。她解释到:”他们的回答非常迅速,并提供多种选择。””看来我们不仅在与支持团队合作,还在与真正使用 Phrase TMS 的人合作”。

还在犹豫吗?

从此刻开始,与全球用户对话,加深影响力。

Leaving Manual Translation Behind With Phrase TMS

Case study featured image Huawei | Phrase

Known to consumers worldwide primarily for its smartphones, readers might be surprised to learn that Huawei was founded all the way back in 1987. Today, Huawei’s offerings include devices like smartphones, tablets, and wireless routers, as well as enterprise-grade networking hardware and services. The Huawei Mobile Services are provided by Aspiegel SE, a wholly-owned Huawei subsidiary.

Stats & facts

Huawei EU by the numbers

80%
translation memory leverage
80%
reduction in turnaround times
20+
languages

Challenge

Modernizing an outdated workflow

The approach that Aspiegel SE and Huawei Europe first took to localization resembled many other companies’ initial strategies: Everything was translated by hand in Word documents and Excel spreadsheets. Unsurprisingly, the company soon realized that this time-consuming process wouldn’t scale well as it continued expanding to new markets. To address the issue, Sergio Llorens González, who manages Huawei’s Multilingual Center in Dublin, and his counterpart in Warsaw, Lena Hasiuk, began looking for a translation management system (TMS) that could meet the company’s needs.

Besides doing away with the need to translate files manually in Word and Excel, Aspiegel and Huawei Europe wanted a flexible TMS, capable of accommodating various workflows. For instance, while teams of several translators and reviewers handle the translations for high-volume languages, some other languages are handled entirely by a single translator. The content to be translated includes both legal copy and marketing copy, and requirements for the structure of output files can vary from one project to the next.

Unlike many tech companies, Aspiegel and Huawei Europe also handle all localization work in-house, instead of outsourcing it to an agency. Because of this, Sergio and Lena set off to find a TMS to which their existing localization staff could transition quickly and easily, with features suitable for internal use.

Solution

Phrase TMS—rich in features, quick to learn

After comparing and attending live demo sessions of other TMS solutions, they settled on Phrase TMS. They discovered that Phrase TMS had all the features they were looking for and then some; for example, while their old approach to localization didn’t involve machine translation (MT), it has begun using MT since switching to Phrase TMS.

Remarkably, Aspiegel and Huawei Europe were able to transition from its manual localization process to Phrase TMS in under a month, despite the pressure of ongoing projects. Pausing to train localization staff on how to use Phrase TMS wasn’t an option, but that didn’t matter—everyone was able to learn the software as they worked, including users who had never used a CAT tool before.

Starting to use Phrase TMS was like switching from riding a bicycle to driving a car. We were able to reduce our turnaround time for translations by 80%.

Sergio Llorens González

Localization Manager

Benefits

Leveraging machine translation for faster turnaround times

Since it left manual translation behind in favor of Phrase TMS, Aspiegel and Huawei Europe have drastically improved the efficiency of their localization process. The most astonishing improvement the company noticed was in translations of terms and conditions: Today, their localization staff are able to leverage translation memory matches for about 80% of the text in these documents, with a corresponding 80% reduction in turnaround times.

By nature, marketing copy isn’t as recyclable as legal copy, so the company has begun using machine translation to improve efficiency in this area. The company’s translators and reviewers find it helpful to have machine-translated text available as a reference, and using MT has improved the efficiency of their workflow for marketing translations by about 30%. To minimize the number of unhelpful machine translations that translators must discard, Aspiegel and Huawei Europe have also increased the MT quality threshold in Phrase TMS.

As Aspiegel and Huawei Europe have expanded, so has its localization team, which has grown from about 20 translators to 50. Lena Hasiuk and Sergio Llorens González, who initially selected Phrase TMS from among other TMSs, have since been joined by Anna Gawrońska, a business operations specialist who now leads the company’s localization efforts. Gawrońska is particularly impressed by Phrase TMS’s support team, which she describes as a “big highlight” of working with Phrase TMS. “They are very quick and provide answers with multiple options,” she explains. “It seems we are not only working with a support team, but with people who actually use Phrase TMS.”

Ready to get started?

Reach a wider audience and build deeper connections today.